My Worst Flaw

My worst flaw is that I’m anxious about, well, everything.

I spent days worrying about things I have absolutely no control over.  The thing is I know that I have no control over what happens, most of the time, but I can’t stop the thoughts from flooding into my head.  Sometimes I can’t even stop how I react to situations.  I go from zero to a million on the anxiety scale in 0.3 seconds.

I’ve always wanted to blame my older siblings for part of it, because I’ve always wanted to make sure I live up to their examples.  I know they’re not perfect, but they’re all doing so well for themselves and sometimes I get afraid that I’ll be the odd one out… the one who ends up living in one of their basements.

It’s not their fault though.  They’re just living their lives, and I’m busy worrying about mine.

That’s partly why I got into acting and music; it’s an escape that takes me away from my worries for a while.  Or, even better, it helps me to express them at times.  My passion for acting and music has been a release for me, it hasn’t cured me, but it’s helped.

My therapist recently told me to start keeping a journal.  I’m not sure if it’s helping much yet, but I’m trying to keep up with it the best I can.  Part of my “assignment” is to make sure I write down the things I’m currently feeling anxious about and why it’s bothering me so.

So yeah, my biggest flaw is my anxiety…

…but I’m working on it.

scotty signature

 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Flawed.”

Leave a Reply

